Slideshow 1
Slideshow Overlay
Inner Banner 1 Inner Banner Overlay

Contact Us

"Education is all a matter of building bridges."

- Ralph Ellison

Duke Ellington School of the Arts
Address:
3500 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20007
Main Office: 202.282.0123
G
eneral Emails: info@ellingtonarts.org  |  development@ellingtonarts.org   |   alumniengagement@ellingtonarts.org
Newsletter Sign-Up: Choose your newsletter — Alumni, Community (Events) or Parents —and sign up here.
Issue Based Contact List: In an effort to facilitate better community communication, please review and download the SY21-22 DESA Contact Chart on whom to contact for various subject areas. (Click Here)

2022-2023 Administration, Faculty & Staff

Leadership
Name/PositionContact Information
Isaac Daniel, Chair
(Assistant Principal)

isaac.daniel@k12.dc.gov
Jamie Floyd
(Assistant Principal )

jamie.harrison@k12.dc.gov
Donna Hayden
(Director of Administrative Operations)

Donna.Hayden@k12.dc.gov
Vernard Howard
(Director of Strategy & Logistics)

vernard.howard@k12.dc.gov
Lee Jackson
(Director of Finance)

Leander.Jackson@k12.dc.gov
Lisa Jones
(Assistant Principal / Chief of Academics )

lisa.jones2@k12.dc.gov
Sandi Logan
(Head of School & Principal)

sandi.logan@k12.dc.gov
Keyonna Sims
(Dean of Students)

Keyonna.Sims2@k12.dc.gov
Greg Watkins
(Director of SEL (Social/Emotional Learning) & Student Affairs)

Greg.watkins@k12.dc.gov
Administration
Name/PositionContact Information
Deidra Bell
(Administrative Aide)

Deidra.bell@k12.dc.gov
Melissa Bethea
(Library Media Specialist)

melissa.bethea@k12.dc.gov
Marco Brooks
(Instructional Coach)

marco.brooks@k12.dc.gov
Ajahmure Clovis
(Alumni Coordinator)
Phone: (202) 699-5323
Ajahmure.Clovis@k12.dc.gov
Amber Golden
(S.H.A.D.E. President)

shade@ellingtonarts.org
Jailyn Harrison
(Attendance Counselor)

Jailyn.Harrison@k12.dc.gov
Tyler Hoyle
(Communications & External Affairs Manager)

Tyler.Hoyle@k12.dc.gov
Veronica Martin
(Executive Assistant to the Principal)

veronica.martin@k12.dc.gov
Dana Nearing
(Registrar/Gender & Sexuality Alliance Advisor)
Phone: 202-727-6404
dnearing@ellingtonarts.org
Kayla Roach
(Admissions & Enrollment Associate )

Kayla.Roach@k12.dc.gov
Tony Starnes
(Audio/Visual Manager)

tony.starnes@k12.dc.gov
Maxine Stone
(Executive Administrative Support Manager)

maxine.stone@k12.dc.gov
Ali Suroosh
(OCTO Tech Specialist)

Ali.Suroosh@dc.gov
Carolyn Thomas
(Administrative Support)

Carolyn.Thomas2@k12.dc.gov
Jennifer Turner
(Testing Coordinator)

jennifer.turner2@k12.dc.gov
Trena Woods
(Academic Administrative Support)

trena.woods@k12.dc.gov
Ellington Fund
Name/PositionContact Information
Ari Fitzgerald
(President)

development@ellingtonarts.org
Jackie Love-Baker
(Development Director)

Jlbaker@ellingtonarts.org
Facilities
Name/PositionContact Information
Cafeteria Manager
Cafe.ellington@k12.dc.gov
Rhonda Keith
(Head Foreman)

Rhonda.Keith@k12.dc.gov
Finance & HR
Name/PositionContact Information
Barbara Bennett
(Senior Accountant)

Barbara.Bennett@k12.dc.gov
Victoria Facyson
(Human Resources )

Vfacyson@ellingtonarts.org
Valerie Fowlkes Bynum
(Accounting Manager)

finance@ellingtonarts.org
Arnold Hawkins
(Human Resources Officer)

HR@ellingtonarts.org
Lee Jackson
(Director of Finance)

Leander.Jackson@k12.dc.gov
Student Support Services
Name/PositionContact Information
James Ballard
(School Psychologist)

james.ballard@k12.dc.gov
Peter Boccardi
(Social Worker)

peter.boccardi@k12.dc.gov
Larry Davis
(9th & 10th Grades School Counselor)

larry.davis3@k12.dc.gov
Nicole Frazier
(9th & 12th Graders Social Worker & 504 Coordinator)

Nicole.frazier@k12.dc.gov
Cinthya Gianella
(ELL)

cinthya.gianella@k12.dc.gov
Delphenia James
(School Nurse)

Delphenia.james.chn@k12.dc.gov
Suwana Reavis
(11th & 12th Grades School Counselor)

suwana.reavis@k12.dc.gov
Sabrina Smith
(In-School Support Specialist)

sabrina.smith@k12.dc.gov
Crystal Sylvia
(10th & 11th Graders Social Worker & 504 Coordinator)

Crystal.sylvia@k12.dc.gov
Electives
Name/PositionContact Information
Ayanna Hardy
(Musical Theatre)

ayanna.hardy@k12.dc.gov
English
Name/PositionContact Information
Gabrielle Dubose
(DESA & GoGo Music History )

gabrielle.dubose@k12.dc.gov
Suzette Francis
(English III, AP Language & Composition)

Suzette.Francis@k12.dc.gov
Cinthya Gianella
(ELL)

cinthya.gianella@k12.dc.gov
Habib Jah
(English I & II (Pre-AP))

Habib.Jah@k12.dc.gov
Cullen Swinson, Chair
(English I)

cullen.swinson@k12.dc.gov
Anthony Verlich
(English IV)

anthony.verlich@k12.dc.gov
Health & Physical Fitness
Name/PositionContact Information
Leonard Nelson
(Physical Education)

Leonard.Nelson@k12.dc.gov
Andre Steward
(Health)

Andre.Steward@k12.dc.gov
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Dance Potpourri, Dance Composition, Modern Dance II)

nikki.sutton@k12.dc.gov
Math
Name/PositionContact Information
Andrew Asare
(Algebra I, Honors Algebra I, Geometry)

andrew.asare@k12.dc.gov
Victor Ashiara
(Math Instructional Coach )

victor.ashiara@k12.dc.gov
Harry Geddis
(Algebra II, Probability & Statistics, AP Statistics)

harry.geddis@k12.dc.gov
Katrina Kasinowski
(Geometry, Algebra II, Honors Algebra II)

katrina.kasinowski@k12.dc.gov
Summaya Khalid
(Honors Algebra ll, Honors Geometry, Geometry)

Summaiya.Khalid@k12.dc.gov
Charise Shaw, Chair
(Advanced Algebra w/ Financial Applications, Pre-Calculus, Honors Pre-Calculus, AP Calculus AB/BC)

charise.shaw@k12.dc.gov
Science
Name/PositionContact Information
Cedric Buckley, Chair
(AP Biology, Honor Chemistry)

cedric.buckley@k12.dc.gov
Gabrielle Harper
(Physics & Biology)

gabrielle.harper@k12.dc.gov
Eileen Pascucci
(Chemistry)

eileen.pascucci@k12.dc.gov
Lauren Williams
(Anatomy)

lauren.williams5@k12.dc.gov
Social Sciences
Name/PositionContact Information
Sebastian Carias
(DC History, US Government, AP US Government)

sebastian.carias@k12.dc.gov
Stephen Edge
(US History, AP World History)

stephen.edge@k12.dc.gov
Jonathan Fruendt
(World History II, AP World History)

jonathan.fruendt@k12.dc.gov
Jeff Johnson
(World History I, Pre-AP World History)

jeffjohnson@k12.dc.gov
Lynn Moore, Chair
(World History, Geography I, Street Law)

lynn.moore@k12.dc.gov
Specialized Instruction
Name/PositionContact Information
Megan Crowley
(Special Education Teacher)

megan.crowley@k12.dc.gov
Troy Cudworth
(Character Exploration, Study Skills Development)

troy.cudworth@k12.dc.gov
Ivan Johnson
(LEA Representative/Coordinator)

ivan.johnson@k12.dc.gov
Ben Smith
(SPED Coordinator)

Ben.Smith@k12.dc.gov
World Languages
Name/PositionContact Information
Joshua Jenkins
(Spanish I & II)

joshua.jenkins@k12.dc.gov
Elie Matamba
(French)

elie.matamba@k12.dc.gov
Laura Moticka, Chair
(Italian I, II & III, Senior Project )

laura.moticka@k12.dc.gov
Yura Schreiber
(French I & II)

Yura.Schreiber@k12.dc.gov
Dance
Name/PositionContact Information
Charles Augins, Chair
charles.augins@k12.dc.gov
Whitney Brown
(Ballet I)

Whitney.Brown@k12.dc.gov
Sandra Fortune-Green
(Ballet III & IV)

Sandra.fortune-greene@k12.dc.gov
Tammy Hurt
(Ballet)

tammy.hurt@k12.dc.gov
Adrian Vincent James
(Ballet)

adrian.james@k12.dc.gov
Lesina Martin
Lesina.Martin2@k12.dc.gov
Treanna Reid-Alexander
(Modern I, Dance Improvisation, Dance Orientation)

treanna.alexander@k12.dc.gov
Katherine Smith
(Co-Chair; Modern III & IV, Dance History, Senior Project)

katherine.smith@k12.dc.gov
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Dance Potpourri, Dance Composition, Modern Dance II)

nikki.sutton@k12.dc.gov
Instrumental Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Joanne Alme
(Saxophone Technique)

joanne.Alme@k12.dc.gov
Michael Bowie
(Bass)

michael.bowie2@k12.dc.gov
Norman Brentley
(Flute Technique, Flute Ensemble)

norman.brentley@k12.dc.gov
David Cole
David.Cole2@k12.dc.gov
Reginald Cyntje
(Jazz Studies Director, Jazz Technique, Jazz History, Composition)

reginald.cyntje@k12.dc.gov
Isaac Daniel, Chair
(Assistant Principal)

isaac.daniel@k12.dc.gov
Tyra Flotte
(Clarinet Technique, Conducting, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band, Music Theory II, Concert Band)

tyra.flotte@k12.dc.gov
Dupor Georges
(Trombone Technique, AP Music Theory)

dupor.georges@k12.dc.gov
Lynne Gray
(Piano Theory, Music History)

lynne.gray@k12.dc.gov
Kieron Irvine
(Trumpet Tech I-IV, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band)

Kieron.Irvine@k12.dc.gov
Christina Kharazian
(Violin Technique)

christine.kharazian@k12.dc.gov
Jisang Lee
(Sight Singing II, Tuba)

jisang.lee@k12.dc.gov
Margaret McGillivray
(French Horn)

Margaret.McGillivray@k12.dc.gov
Haewon Min
(Piano Technique, Piano Ensemble, Harp Technique)

Haewon.min@k12.dc.gov
Bruno Nasta
(Viola, Violin)

Bruno.Nasta@k12.dc.gov
Denna Purdie
(Cello Technique lll, Cello Technique llll, String Ensemble)

Denna.Purdie@k12.dc.gov
Ada Saunders
(Horn)

ada.saunders@k12.dc.gov
Francis Thompson
(Percussion Technique, Music Theory)

francis.thompson@k12.dc.gov
Cinematic Arts and Media Production
Name/PositionContact Information
Elon Durant
(Cinematic Arts Production IV, Senior Project & Play Analysis)

Elon.Durant@k12.dc.gov
Eric Easter
(Co-Chair; Journalism I & II, Arts Internship (Entrepreneurship))

Eric.Easter@k12.dc.gov
Elanna Haywood
(Journalism III & Writing for Media)

Elanna.Haywood@k12.dc.gov
Penny Hollis, Chair
(Cinematic Arts Production A/B, II & III)

Penny.hollis@k12.dc.gov
Derrick Weston Brown
(Writing Workshop IA & IB & Writing Workshop IIA & IIB)

Derrick.brown3@k12.dc.gov
Museum Studies
Name/PositionContact Information
Lamarr Funn
(Intro to Museum Studies, Museum Education & Interpretation)

Lamarr.Funn@k12.dc.gov
Jarvis Grant
(Archives, Collections & Exhibitions, Digital Media, Museum Communications l & ll)

Jarvis.grant@k12.dc.gov
Ayanna Muhammad
(Art A, Cultural Studies, Art History, Gallery Management, Museum Communications III)

Ayanna.muhammad@k12.dc.gov
Francesca Scott
(Museum Internship (Arts Internship), Curatorial Skills, Design I, Archives, Collections & Exhibitions II, Art A)

Francesca.Scott@k12.dc.gov
Marta Reid Stewart, Chair
(Art A, Intro Museum Studies, Curatorial Skills, Museum Education, Museum Internship)

Marta.Stewart@k12.dc.gov
Barry Wilson
(Exhibit Design I, Exhibit Design II)

Barry.Wilson@k12.dc.gov
Technical Design & Production
Name/PositionContact Information
Kalif Aljami
(Scenic Coordinator / Instructor)

Kalif.Aljami2@k12.dc.gov
Monifa Christian
(Costume Instructor)

Theresa.Christian2@k12.dc.gov
Euripes "Walter" Claassen
(Props Master)

Wclaassen@ellingtonarts.org
Adarra Davis
(Production Manager)

Adarra.Davis@k12.dc.gov
Robin Harris, Chair
(Curriculum & Logistics Coordinator/Instructor)

Robin.Harris2@k12.dc.gov
Henry Joseph
(Mass Media Instructor)

Joseph.Henry@k12.dc.gov
Michael Murray
(Costume Coordinator / Instructor)

Michael.Murray2@k12.dc.gov
Mark Ricks
(Master Electrician / Instructor)

Mark.Ricks@k12.dc.gov
Alberto Segarra
(Technical Director / Lighting Coordinator / Instructor)

Alberto.Segarra@k12.dc.gov
Thom Woodward
(Audio Coordinator /Instructor)

Thom.Woodward@k12.dc.gov
Theatre
Name/PositionContact Information
Kim Bey
(Acting)

kim.bey@k12.dc.gov
Doug Bowles
(Theatre Styles)

Doug.Bowles@k12.dc.gov
Kaia Calhoun
(Acting I Styles, Acting II Styles, Theatre History, Speech )

Kaia.calhoun@k12.dc.gov
Ryan Fields
(Theatre Intern)

Ryan.Fields@k12.dc.gov
Jacqueline Hammond
(Acting III)

Jacqueline.Hammond@k12.dc.gov
Ayanna Hardy
(Musical Theatre)

ayanna.hardy@k12.dc.gov
Tammy Hurt
(Theatre Dance & Theatre Styles)

Tammy.Hurt@k12.dc.gov
Ken Johnson, Chair
(Senior Projects, Playwriting, Advanced Practice)

stephen.johnson@k12.dc.gov
Le'Asha Julius
(Introduction to Theatre)

LeAsha.Julius@k12.dc.gov
Elizabeth Mpanu
(Theatre Intern)

Elizabeth.Mpanu@k12.dc.gov
Dawn Naser
(Movement, Theater Operations)

Dawn.naser@k12.dc.gov
Elizabeth Pringle
(Play Writing)

Elizabeth.Pringle@k12.dc.gov
Christopher Richardson
(Theatre Styles)

Christopher.Richardson@k12.dc.gov
Noemy Rivera
(Office Manager)

Noemy.Rivera@k12.dc.gov
Eric Ruffin
(Acting IV)

Eric.Ruffin2@k12.dc.gov
Kevin Thorne
(Introduction to Theatre)

Kevin.Thorne@k12.dc.gov
Keona Welch
(Acting II)

Keona.Welch@k12.dc.gov
Visual Arts
Name/PositionContact Information
Elana Casey
(Art A, AP Art History, AP Studio Art, Internship & Professional Practices)

elana.casey@k12.dc.gov
Mike Easton, Chair
(Art A, Painting, Drawing III)

Mike.Easton@k12.dc.gov
Derek Horton
(2D Concepts, Advertising Design)

derek.horton@k12.dc.gov
David Ibata
(Art A, 2D Concepts, Art History)

David.ibata@k12.dc.gov
Jacqueline Maggi
(Printmaking, Sculpture)

jacqueline.maggi@k12.dc.gov
Alexander McSwain
(Computer Graphics, Animation)

Alexander.Mcswain@k12.dc.gov
Vocal Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Monifa Barrow-Wass
(Sight-Singing I-IV)

monifa.barrow-wass@k12.dc.gov
Rob Blount
(Intro to Sight Singing)

Rob.Blount@k12.dc.gov
Chester Burke Jr.
(Piano Theory I, Piano Theory II, Vocal Accompanist)

Chester.lee-burke@k12.dc.gov
Koon Ee (Alex) Chan
Alex.Chan@k12.dc.gov
Irene Datcher
(Jazz Ensemble)

Irene.Datcher@k12.dc.gov
Michael Ely
(Accompanist)

vocalaccompanist@aol.com
Antonio Espinal
Antonio.Espinal@k12.dc.gov
Xavier Joseph
(Vocal Technique)

xavier.joseph@k12.dc.gov
Patrick Lundy, Chair
(Concert Choir & Music Theory)

Patrick.Lundy@k12.dc.gov
Danielle McKay
(Music History)

Danielle.Mckay@k12.dc.gov
David Ottinger
(Sight Singing II)

David.Ottinger@k12.dc.gov
Tess Ottinger
(Voice, Music History, Female Ensemble)

Tess.Ottinger@k12.dc.gov
Paige Rammelkamp
(Collaborative Pianist)
Liz Sellers
(Accompanist)

liz.seller@k12.dc.gov
Monique Spells
(Vocal Technique, Concert Choir)

monique.holmes@k12.dc.gov
Taylor Young
(Jazz Ensemble)

Taylor.Young@k12.dc.gov