Slideshow 1
Slideshow Overlay
Inner Banner 1 Inner Banner Overlay

Contact Us

"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

- Dr. Seuss

Duke Ellington School of the Arts

3500 R Street NW
Washington, DC 20007

Main Office – (202) 282-0123
info@ellingtonarts.org

2020-2021 Administration, Faculty & Staff

Leadership
Name/PositionContact Information
Jevelle Branch
(Director of Operations & Collaborative Projects)

jbranch@ellingtonarts.org
Isaac Daniel
(Interim Assistant Principal)

isaac.daniel@k12.dc.gov
Donna Hayden
(Director of Administrative Operations)

Donna.Hayden@k12.dc.gov
Donna Hollis
(Director of Social Emotional Learning & Shepherding)

dhollis@ellingtonarts.org
Lee Jackson
(Chief Financial Officer)

ljackson@ellingtonarts.org
Angela Jones
(Director of Arts)

ajones@ellingtonarts.org
Lisa Jones
(Assistant Principal)

lisa.jones2@k12.dc.gov
Sandi Logan
(Head of School & Principal)

sandi.logan@k12.dc.gov
Veronica Martin
(Executive Assistant to the Principal)

veronica.martin@k12.dc.gov
Savannah R. Overton Williams
(Director of External Affairs & Community Engagement)
Phone: 202.631.3129 (cell)
sroverton@ellingtonarts.org
Deron Snyder
(Director of Communications)

dsnyder@ellingtonarts.org
James Walker
(Director of Student & Parent Engagement)

James.walker4@k12.dc.gov
Administration
Name/PositionContact Information
Melissa Bethea
(School Librarian)

melissa.bethea@k12.dc.gov
Jevelle Branch
(Box Office/Front House Operation Manager)

jbranch@ellingtonarts.org
Melvin Clay
(IT Specialist)

mclay@ellingtonarts.org
Amber Golden
(S.H.A.D.E. President)

shade@ellingtonarts.org
Rhonda Keith
(Head Foreman)

Rhonda.Keith@k12.dc.gov
Maria Lewis
(Attendance Counselor)

maria.lewis@k12.dc.gov
Treva Lindsey
(Administrative Coordinator)
Dana Nearing
(Registrar/Gender & Sexuality Alliance Advisor)
Phone: 202-727-6404
dnearing@ellingtonarts.org
Nicolas Ojeda
(Instructional Coach)

nicolas.ojeda@k12.dc.gov
Charise Shaw, Chair
(Pre-Calculus, Honors Pre-Calculus, AP Calculus)

charise.shaw@k12.dc.gov
Tony Starnes
(Audio/Visual Technician)

tony.starnes@k12.dc.gov
Maxine Stone
(Executive Administrative Support Manager)

maxine.stone@k12.dc.gov
Jennifer Turner
(Testing Coordinator)

jennifer.turner2@k12.dc.gov
Ellington Fund
Name/PositionContact Information
Ari Fitzgerald
(President)

info@ellingtonarts.org
Jackie Love-Baker
(Development Director)

Jlbaker@ellingtonarts.org
Facilities
Name/PositionContact Information
Jevelle Branch
(Director of Operations & Collaborative Projects)

jbranch@ellingtonarts.org
Finance
Name/PositionContact Information
Valerie Fowlkes Bynum
(Accounting Manager)

finance@ellingtonarts.org
Lee Jackson
(Chief Financial Officer)

ljackson@ellingtonarts.org
Katie Vargas
(Human Resources Officer)

hr@ellingtonarts.org
Cheryl Wiggins
(Finance Associate)

cwiggins@ellingtonarts.org
Student Support Services​
Name/PositionContact Information
Perry Camp
(School Psychologist)

perry.camp@k12.dc.gov
Nicole Frazier
(Social Worker/504 Coordinator)

nicole.frazier@k12.dc.gov
Cinthya Gianella
(ELL)

cinthya.gianella@k12.dc.gov
Delphenia James
(School Nurse)

delphenia.james@k12.dc.gov
Marquis Mathis
(Freshmen & Sophomores Counselor/Arts Counselor)

marquis.mathis@k12.dc.gov
Suwana Reavis
(Juniors & Seniors Counselor)

suwana.reavis@k12.dc.gov
Lashawn Ricks
(School Counselor)

lashawn.ricks@k12.dc.gov
Crystal Sylvia
(Social Worker & 504 Coordinator)

crystal.sylvia@k12.dc.gov
Electives
Name/PositionContact Information
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rosalind.white2@k12.dc.gov
English
Name/PositionContact Information
Deidre Comegys
(Pre-AP English I & II)

deidre.comegys@k12.dc.gov
Gabrielle Dubose
(English II)

gabrielle.dubose@k12.dc.gov
Suzette Francis
(English III, AP Language & Composition)
Cinthya Gianella
(ELL)

cinthya.gianella@k12.dc.gov
Cullen Swinson, Chair
(English I)

cullen.swinson@k12.dc.gov
Anthony Verlich
(English IV)

anthony.verlich@k12.dc.gov
Health & Physical Fitness
Name/PositionContact Information
Leonard Nelson
(Physical Education)

Leonard.Nelson@k12.dc.gov
Andre Steward
(Health)

Andre.Steward@k12.dc.gov
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Dance Technique I, Dance Composition, Modern Dance II)

nikki.sutton@k12.dc.gov
Math
Name/PositionContact Information
Harry Geddy
(AP Statistics, Statistics, Algebra II)

harry.geddis@k12.dc.gov
Katrina Kasinowski
(Geometry, Algebra II, Honors Algebra II)

katrina.kasinowski@k12.dc.gov
Summaya Khalid
(Honors Algebra ll, Honors Geometry ll, Geometry)

Summaiya.Khalid@k12.dc.gov
Charise Shaw, Chair
(Pre-Calculus, Honors Pre-Calculus, AP Calculus)

charise.shaw@k12.dc.gov
Tyler Simpkiss
(Algebra I, Honors Algebra I, Geometry)

tyler.simpkiss@k12.dc.gov
Science
Name/PositionContact Information
Michele Baskin, Chair
(Chemistry, AP Chemistry, Honors Chemistry)

michele.Baskin@k12.dc.gov
Gabrielle Harper
(Physics & Biology)

gabrielle.harper@k12.dc.gov
Nicolette Joseph
(Biology, Environmental Science)
Jacqueline Nickerson
(Anatomy and Physiology)

Jacqueline.nickerson@k12.dc.gov
Eileen Pascucci
(Chemistry, Honors Biology, AP Biology)

eileen.pascucci@k12.dc.gov
Social Sciences
Name/PositionContact Information
Stephen Edge
(US History, AP US History)

stephen.edge@k12.dc.gov
Jonathan Fruendt
(World History II, AP World History)

jonathan.fruendt@k12.dc.gov
Jeff Johnson
(World History I, Pre-AP World History)

jeffjohnson@k12.dc.gov
Lynn Moore, Chair
(World History, Geography I, Street Law)

lynn.moore@k12.dc.gov
Dwayne Williams
(DC History, US Government, AP US Government)

Dwayne.Williams@k12.dc.gov
Specialized Instruction
Name/PositionContact Information
Megan Crowley
megan.crowley@k12.dc.gov
Troy Cudworth
(Character Exploration, Study Skills Development)

troy.cudworth@k12.dc.gov
Ben Smith
(LEA Representative, Special Education Coordinator, Educational Counselor)

ben.smith@k12.dc.gov
World Languages
Name/PositionContact Information
Joshua Jenkins
(Spanish I & II)

joshua.jenkins@k12.dc.gov
Laura Moticka, Chair
(Italian I, II & III, Senior Project )

laura.moticka@k12.dc.gov
Yura Schreiber
(French I & II)

Yura.Schreiber@k12.dc.gov
Dance
Name/PositionContact Information
Charles Augins, Chair
(Ballet, Dance Potpourri)

charles.augins@k12.dc.gov
Melvin Deal
(Ethnic Dance I & II)

africanhdd@aol.com
Sandra Fortune-Green
(Ballet III & IV)

Sandra.fortune-greene@k12.dc.gov
Tammy Hurt
(Ballet)

tammy.hurt@k12.dc.gov
Adrian Vincent James
(Ballet)

adrian.james@k12.dc.gov
Treanna Reid-Alexander
(Modern I, Dance Improvisation, Dance Orientation)

treanna.alexander@k12.dc.gov
Katherine Smith
(Modern III & IV, Dance History, Senior Project)

katherine.smith@k12.dc.gov
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Dance Technique I, Dance Composition, Modern Dance II)

nikki.sutton@k12.dc.gov
Nina Willner
(Accompanist)
Instrumental Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Joanne Alme
(Saxophone Technique)

joanne.Alme@k12.dc.gov
Michael Bowie
(Bass)
Norman Brentley
(Flute Technique, Flute Ensemble)

norman.brentley@k12.dc.gov
David Cole
(Guitar Tech, Guitar Ensemble)

david.cole@k12.dc.gov
Reginald Cyntje
(Jazz Technique, Jazz Combo, Jazz Orchestra)

reginald.cyntje@k12.dc.gov
Leslie DeLaine
(Viola, Violin)

Leslie.delaine@k12.dc.gov
Tyra Flotte
(Clarinet Technique, Conducting, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band, Music Theory II, Concert Band)

tyra.flotte@k12.dc.gov
Anita Garcia
(Viola, Violin)
Dupor Georges
(Trombone Technique, AP Music Theory)

dupor.georges@k12.dc.gov
Brent Gossett
(Sight Singing II, Tuba & Euphonium)

brent.gossett@k12.dc.gov
Lynne Gray
(Piano Theory, Music History)

lynne.gray@k12.dc.gov
Heather Haughn, Chair
(Violin & Viola Technique, String Ensemble, Orchestra)

Heather.Haughn@k12.dc.gov
Kieron Irvine
(Trumpet Tech I-IV, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band)

Kieron.Irvine@k12.dc.gov
Margaret McGillivray
(French Horn)

Margaret.McGillivray@k12.dc.gov
Haewon Min
(Piano Technique, Piano Ensemble, Harp Technique)

Haewon.min@k12.dc.gov
Paul Morgan
(Composition, Music Theory II & III)

Paul.morgan@k12.dc.gov
Janet Peachey
(Music Theory, Composition, AP Theory)

janet.peachey@k12.dc.gov
Denna Purdie
(Cello Technique, Concert Band)

Denna.Purdie@k12.dc.gov
Ada Saunders
(Oboe)

ada.saunders@k12.dc.gov
Francis Thompson
(Percussion Technique, Music Theory)

francis.thompson@k12.dc.gov
Literary Media & Communications
Name/PositionContact Information
Eric Easter
(Journalism II & III)

Eric.Easter@k12.dc.gov
Penny Hollis
(Media I, II & III)

Penny.hollis@k12.dc.gov
Oscar Jamaal
(Mass Media & Communications I, II & III)

Oscar.Jamaal@k12.dc.gov
Jami Ramberan
(Media lll & IV, Senior Portfolio)

Jami.ramberan@k12.dc.gov
Shom Shamapande, Chair
(Writing for Media, Play Analysis, Playwriting, Journalism)

shom.Shamapande@k12.dc.gov
Derrick Weston Brown
(Creative Writing)

Derrick.brown3@k12.dc.gov
Museum Studies
Name/PositionContact Information
Nekisha Durrett
(Art A, Archives, Collections & Exhibitions, Exhibit Design, Digital Photo)

Nekisha.durrett@k12.dc.gov
Jarvis Grant
(Archives, Collections & Exhibitions, Digital Media, Museum Communications l & ll)

Jarvis.grant@k12.dc.gov
Gabriela Lujan
(Curatorial Skills)

gabriela.lujan@k12.dc.gov
Ayanna Muhammad
(Art A, Cultural Studies, Art History, Gallery Management, Museum Communications III)

Ayanna.muhammad@k12.dc.gov
Jayma Natal
(Intro to Museum Studies, Museum Education & Interpretation)

jayma.natal@k12.dc.gov
Marta Reid Stewart, Chair
(Intro to Museum Studies, Curatorial Skills, Museum Education, Museum Internship)

Marta.Stewart@k12.dc.gov
Technical Design & Production
Name/PositionContact Information
Betty Fenner Davis
(Theatre Design I , II & III, Tech Production I, Theatre Operation I, Senior Project Theatre Tech)

Betty.Davis@k12.dc.gov
Robin Harris, Chair
(Entertainment Careers, Scenic Technology, Stage Management, Theatre Operations II, Tech Production II, Senior Project Theatre Tech)

Robin.Harris2@k12.dc.gov
Michael Murray
(Costume Shop Manager, Costume Technology, Tech Production I, Theatre Operations I, Senior Project Theatre Tech)

michael.murray@k12.dc.gov
Latrice Negron
(Senior Project Theatre Tech, Theatre Design I, II & III, Tech Production IV, Theater Operations)

latrice.negron@k12.dc.gov
Harlan Penn
(Senior Project Theatre Tech, Theatre Design I, II & III)
Thom Woodward
(Digital Arts Technology for Tech Design, Theatre Design I, II & III, Tech Production III, Theatre Operation III, Senior Project Theatre Tech)

Thom.Woodward@k12.dc.gov
Theatre
Name/PositionContact Information
Kim Bey
(Acting IV)

kim.bey@k12.dc.gov
Kaia Calhoun
(Styles, Acting I)

Kaia.calhoun@k12.dc.gov
Caroline Clay
(Speech II & III)

caroline.clay@k12.dc.gov
Denise Diggs
(Speech I & II)
Charles Franklin
(Production II, III, IV)

Charles.Franklin@k12.dc.gov
Ken Johnson, Chair
(Senior Projects, Playwriting, Advanced Practice)

stephen.johnson@k12.dc.gov
Vera Katz
(Acting II & III)

vera.katz@k12.dc.gov
Dawn Naser
(Movement, Theater Operations)

Dawn.naser@k12.dc.gov
Eric Ruffin
(Theatre History)

eric.ruffin2@k12.dc.gov
Greg Watkins
(Voice)
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rosalind.white2@k12.dc.gov
Visual Arts
Name/PositionContact Information
Elana Casey
(Art A, AP Art History, AP Studio Art, Internship & Professional Practices)

elana.casey@k12.dc.gov
Melchus Davis
(AP Studio Art, Drawing)

melchus.davis@k12.dc.gov
Mike Easton
(Art A, Drawing I, Drawing III, Painting I, Painting II)

Mike.Easton@k12.dc.gov
David Ibata
(Art A, 2D Concepts, Art History, Drawing I, Drawing IV)

David.ibata@k12.dc.gov
Patricia Little
(Photography (Imaging I & II))

patricia.little@k12.dc.gov
Rodney Little, Chair
(Advertising Design, Computer Graphics, Drawing II)

rlittle@ellingtonarts.org
Lionel White
(Printmaking, Sculpture)
Piankhi Zimmerman
(Computer Graphics II: Animation & Design)

piankhi.zimmerman@k12.dc.gov
Vocal Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Chester Burke Jr.
(Piano Theory I & II, Collaborative Pianist)

Chester.lee-burke@k12.dc.gov
Marquita Cooper
(Vocal Technique I-IV, Concert Choir, Music History)

Marquita.Cooper@k12.dc.gov
Anthony Daniel
(Sight Singing I)

anthony.daniel@k12.dc.gov
Michael Ely
(Collaborative Pianist)

vocalaccompanist@aol.com
Martin Gallegos
(Collaborative Pianist)
Brent Gossett
(Sight Singing II, Tuba & Euphonium)

brent.gossett@k12.dc.gov
Xavier Joseph
(Vocal Technique I-IV, Concert Choir, Public Speaking)

xavier.joseph@k12.dc.gov
Kelly Lenahan
(Collaborative Pianist)
Elena Prince
(Intro to Sight Singing)

elena.prince@k12.dc.gov
Paige Rammelkamp
(Collaborative Pianist)
Stephen Rogers
(Sight Singing III, Concert Choir)

stephen.rogers@k12.dc.gov
Monique Spells, Chair
(Vocal Technique, Diction, Concert Choir, Show Choir)

monique.holmes@k12.dc.gov
Refiye Tappan
(Collaborative Pianist)
Sylvia Twine
(Vocal Technique I-IV, Music History, Female Ensemble)

Sylvia.Twine@k12.dc.gov
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rosalind.white2@k12.dc.gov
Taylor Young
(Jazz Ensemble)

Taylor.Young@k12.dc.gov