Slideshow 1
Slideshow Overlay
Inner Banner 1 Inner Banner Overlay

Contact Us

"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

- Dr. Seuss

Duke Ellington School of the Arts

3500 R Street NW
Washington, DC 20007

Main Office – (202) 282-0123

info@ellingtonarts.org

Issue Based Contact List – In an effort to facilitate better community communication, please review and download the SY21-22 DESA Contact Chart on whom to contact for various subject areas. (Click Here)

2021-2022 Administration, Faculty & Staff

Leadership
Name/PositionContact Information
Jevelle Branch
(Director of Operations & Collaborative Projects)

jbranch@ellingtonarts.org
Isaac Daniel
(Interim Assistant Principal)

isaac.daniel@k12.dc.gov
Donna Hayden
(Director of Administrative Operations)

Donna.Hayden@k12.dc.gov
Lisa Jones
(Assistant Principal)

lisa.jones2@k12.dc.gov
Sandi Logan
(Head of School & Principal)

sandi.logan@k12.dc.gov
Savannah R. Overton Williams
(Director of External Affairs & Community Engagement)
Phone: 202.631.3129 (cell)
sroverton@ellingtonarts.org
James Walker
(Director of Student & Parent Engagement)

James.walker4@k12.dc.gov
Greg Watkins
(Director of STEAM and Arts Innovation)

Greg.watkins@k12.dc.gov
Administration
Name/PositionContact Information
Deidra Bell
(Administrative Aide)

Deidra.bell@k12.dc.gov
Melissa Bethea
(Library Media Specialist)

melissa.bethea@k12.dc.gov
Jevelle Branch
(Box Office/Front House Operation Manager)

Events@ellingtonarts.org
Melvin Clay
(IT Specialist)

mclay@ellingtonarts.org
Paul Falcon
(Technical Director)

Paul.Falcon@k12.dc.gov
Amber Golden
(S.H.A.D.E. President)

shade@ellingtonarts.org
Tyler Hoyle
(Communications & External Affairs Manager)

Tyler.Hoyle@k12.dc.gov
Maria Lewis
(Attendance Counselor)

maria.lewis@k12.dc.gov
Veronica Martin
(Executive Assistant to the Principal)

veronica.martin@k12.dc.gov
Dana Nearing
(Registrar/Gender & Sexuality Alliance Advisor)
Phone: 202-727-6404
dnearing@ellingtonarts.org
Nicolas Ojeda
(Instructional Coach)

nicolas.ojeda@k12.dc.gov
Kayla Roach
(Admissions Associate)

Kayla.Roach@k12.dc.gov
Tony Starnes
(Audio/Visual Manager)

tony.starnes@k12.dc.gov
Maxine Stone
(Executive Administrative Support Manager)

maxine.stone@k12.dc.gov
Jennifer Turner
(Testing Coordinator)

jennifer.turner2@k12.dc.gov
Ellington Fund
Name/PositionContact Information
Ari Fitzgerald
(President)

info@ellingtonarts.org
Jackie Love-Baker
(Development Director)

Jlbaker@ellingtonarts.org
Facilities
Name/PositionContact Information
Cafeteria Manager
Cafe.ellington@k12.dc.gov
Jevelle Branch
(Director of Operations & Collaborative Projects)

jbranch@ellingtonarts.org
Rhonda Keith
(Head Foreman)

Rhonda.Keith@k12.dc.gov
Finance
Name/PositionContact Information
Barbara Bennett
(Senior Accountant)

Barbara.Bennett@k12.dc.gov
Valerie Fowlkes Bynum
(Accounting Manager)

finance@ellingtonarts.org
Arnold Hawkins
(Human Resources Officer)

HR@ellingtonarts.org
Lee Jackson
(Director of Finance)

ljackson@ellingtonarts.org
Student Support Services​
Name/PositionContact Information
James Ballard
(Psychologist)

James.ballard@k12.dc.gov
Nicole Frazier
(Social Worker/504 Coordinator)

nicole.frazier@k12.dc.gov
Cinthya Gianella
(ELL)

cinthya.gianella@k12.dc.gov
Delphenia James
(School Nurse)

Delphenia.james.chn@k12.dc.gov
Marquis Mathis
(Freshmen & Sophomores Counselor/Arts Counselor)

marquis.mathis@k12.dc.gov
Suwana Reavis
(Juniors & Seniors Counselor)

suwana.reavis@k12.dc.gov
Crystal Sylvia
(Social Worker & 504 Coordinator)

crystal.sylvia@k12.dc.gov
Electives
Name/PositionContact Information
Ayanna Hardy
(Musical Theatre)

ayanna.hardy@k12.dc.gov
English
Name/PositionContact Information
Gabrielle Dubose
(English II)

gabrielle.dubose@k12.dc.gov
Suzette Francis
(English III, AP Language & Composition)

Suzette.Francis@k12.dc.gov
Cinthya Gianella
(ELL)

cinthya.gianella@k12.dc.gov
Habib Jah
(English I & II (Pre-AP))

Habib.Jah@k12.dc.gov
Cullen Swinson, Chair
(English I)

cullen.swinson@k12.dc.gov
Anthony Verlich
(English IV)

anthony.verlich@k12.dc.gov
Health & Physical Fitness
Name/PositionContact Information
Leonard Nelson
(Physical Education)

Leonard.Nelson@k12.dc.gov
Andre Steward
(Health)

Andre.Steward@k12.dc.gov
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Dance Technique I, Dance Composition, Modern Dance II)

nikki.sutton@k12.dc.gov
Math
Name/PositionContact Information
Victor Ashiara
(Math Instructional Coach )

victor.ashiara@k12.dc.gov
Joycelyn Banson
(Algebra I, Geometry)

joycelyn.banson@k12.dc.gov
Harry Geddis
(AP Statistics, Statistics, Algebra II)

harry.geddis@k12.dc.gov
Katrina Kasinowski
(Geometry, Algebra II)

katrina.kasinowski@k12.dc.gov
Summaya Khalid
(Honors Algebra ll, Honors Geometry ll, Geometry)

Summaiya.Khalid@k12.dc.gov
Charise Shaw, Chair
(Algebra I, Pre-Calculus, Honors Pre-Calculus, AP Calculus)

charise.shaw@k12.dc.gov
Science
Name/PositionContact Information
Cedric Buckley
(AP Biology, Honor Chemistry)

cedric.buckley@k12.dc.gov
Gabrielle Harper
(Physics & Biology)

gabrielle.harper@k12.dc.gov
Nicolette Joseph
(Biology, Environmental Science)

Nicolette.Joseph2@k12.dc.gov
Jacqueline Nickerson
(Anatomy and Physiology)

Jacqueline.nickerson@k12.dc.gov
Eileen Pascucci
(Chemistry)

eileen.pascucci@k12.dc.gov
Social Sciences
Name/PositionContact Information
Stephen Edge
(US History, AP US History)

stephen.edge@k12.dc.gov
Jonathan Fruendt
(World History II, AP World History)

jonathan.fruendt@k12.dc.gov
Jeff Johnson
(World History I, Pre-AP World History)

jeffjohnson@k12.dc.gov
Lynn Moore, Chair
(World History, Geography I, Street Law)

lynn.moore@k12.dc.gov
Dwayne Williams
(DC History, US Government, AP US Government)

Dwayne.Williams@k12.dc.gov
Specialized Instruction
Name/PositionContact Information
Megan Crowley
megan.crowley@k12.dc.gov
Troy Cudworth
(Character Exploration, Study Skills Development)

troy.cudworth@k12.dc.gov
Ivan Johnson
(LEA Representative/Coordinator)

ivan.johnson@k12.dc.gov
Tarisai Lumumba-Umoja
(Special Education Coordinator)

tarisai.lumumba-umoja@k12.dc.gov
World Languages
Name/PositionContact Information
Joshua Jenkins
(Spanish I & II)

joshua.jenkins@k12.dc.gov
Laura Moticka, Chair
(Italian I, II & III, Senior Project )

laura.moticka@k12.dc.gov
Yura Schreiber
(French I & II)

Yura.Schreiber@k12.dc.gov
Dance
Name/PositionContact Information
Charles Augins, Chair
(Dance Tech, Ballet ll)

charles.augins@k12.dc.gov
Sandra Fortune-Green
(Ballet III & IV)

Sandra.fortune-greene@k12.dc.gov
Tammy Hurt
(Ballet)

tammy.hurt@k12.dc.gov
Adrian Vincent James
(Ballet)

adrian.james@k12.dc.gov
Treanna Reid-Alexander
(Modern I, Dance Improvisation, Dance Orientation)

treanna.alexander@k12.dc.gov
Katherine Smith
(Modern III & IV, Dance History, Senior Project)

katherine.smith@k12.dc.gov
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Dance Technique I, Dance Composition, Modern Dance II)

nikki.sutton@k12.dc.gov
Nina Willner
(Accompanist)
Instrumental Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Joanne Alme
(Saxophone Technique)

joanne.Alme@k12.dc.gov
Michael Bowie
(Bass)

michael.bowie2@k12.dc.gov
Norman Brentley
(Flute Technique, Flute Ensemble)

norman.brentley@k12.dc.gov
Reginald Cyntje
(Jazz Studies Director, Jazz Technique, Jazz History, Composition)

reginald.cyntje@k12.dc.gov
Tyra Flotte
(Clarinet Technique, Conducting, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band, Music Theory II, Concert Band)

tyra.flotte@k12.dc.gov
Dupor Georges
(Trombone Technique, AP Music Theory)

dupor.georges@k12.dc.gov
Lynne Gray
(Piano Theory, Music History)

lynne.gray@k12.dc.gov
Kieron Irvine
(Trumpet Tech I-IV, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band)

Kieron.Irvine@k12.dc.gov
Christina Kharazian
(Violin Technique)

christine.kharazian@k12.dc.gov
Jisang Lee
(Sight Singing II, Tuba)

jisang.lee@k12.dc.gov
Margaret McGillivray
(French Horn)

Margaret.McGillivray@k12.dc.gov
Haewon Min
(Piano Technique, Piano Ensemble, Harp Technique)

Haewon.min@k12.dc.gov
Bruno Nasta
(Viola, Violin)

Bruno.Nasta@k12.dc.gov
Janet Peachey
(Music Theory, Composition, AP Theory)

janet.peachey@k12.dc.gov
Denna Purdie
(Cello Technique lll, Cello Technique llll, String Ensemble)

Denna.Purdie@k12.dc.gov
Ada Saunders
(Horn)

ada.saunders@k12.dc.gov
Francis Thompson
(Percussion Technique, Music Theory)

francis.thompson@k12.dc.gov
Literary Media & Communications
Name/PositionContact Information
Eric Easter
(Journalism II & III)

Eric.Easter@k12.dc.gov
Penny Hollis, Chair
(Media I,II,III, Play Analysis)

Penny.hollis@k12.dc.gov
Oscar Jamaal
(Mass Media & Communications I, II & III)

Oscar.Jamaal@k12.dc.gov
Ellington Robinson
Ellington.Robinson@k12.dc.gov
Aisha Tyehimba
(African American Lit, Senior Portfolio)

aisha.tyehimba@k12.dc.gov
Derrick Weston Brown
(Creative Writing)

Derrick.brown3@k12.dc.gov
Museum Studies
Name/PositionContact Information
Nekisha Durrett
(Art A, Archives, Collections & Exhibitions, Exhibit Design, Digital Photo)

Nekisha.durrett@k12.dc.gov
Jarvis Grant
(Archives, Collections & Exhibitions, Digital Media, Museum Communications l & ll)

Jarvis.grant@k12.dc.gov
Gabriela Lujan
(Curatorial Skills)

gabriela.lujan@k12.dc.gov
Ayanna Muhammad
(Art A, Cultural Studies, Art History, Gallery Management, Museum Communications III)

Ayanna.muhammad@k12.dc.gov
Marta Reid Stewart, Chair
(Art A, Intro Museum Studies, Curatorial Skills, Museum Education, Museum Internship)

Marta.Stewart@k12.dc.gov
Technical Design & Production
Name/PositionContact Information
Betty Fenner Davis
(Costume Technology, Basic Costumes, Technical Production)

Betty.Davis@k12.dc.gov
Robin Harris, Chair
(Curriculum & Logistics Coordinator/Instructor, Entertainment Careers, Stagecraft, Stage Management, Theatre Operations II)

Robin.Harris2@k12.dc.gov
Michael Murray
(Costume Shop Manager, Theatre Operations)

michael.murray@k12.dc.gov
Latrice Negron
(Lighting Instructor)

latrice.negron@k12.dc.gov
Thom Woodward
(Audio Visual Technology, Audio Visual Design, Technical Production)

Thom.Woodward@k12.dc.gov
Theatre
Name/PositionContact Information
Kim Bey
(Acting IV)

kim.bey@k12.dc.gov
Kaia Calhoun
(Acting I Styles, Acting II Styles, Theatre History, Speech )

Kaia.calhoun@k12.dc.gov
Kendall Claxton
(Introduction to Theatre)

kendall.claxton@k12.dc.gov
Caroline Clay
(Speech II & III)

caroline.clay@k12.dc.gov
Ayanna Hardy
(Musical Theatre)

ayanna.hardy@k12.dc.gov
Ken Johnson, Chair
(Senior Projects, Playwriting, Advanced Practice)

stephen.johnson@k12.dc.gov
Kyra Little
(Musical Theatre)
Dawn Naser
(Movement, Theater Operations)

Dawn.naser@k12.dc.gov
Elizabeth Pringle
(Acting)
Keona Welch
(Audition Practices)

Keona.Welch@k12.dc.gov
Visual Arts
Name/PositionContact Information
Elana Casey
(Art A, AP Art History, AP Studio Art, Internship & Professional Practices)

elana.casey@k12.dc.gov
Mike Easton
(Art A, Painting, Drawing III)

Mike.Easton@k12.dc.gov
David Ibata
(Art A, 2D Concepts, Art History)

David.ibata@k12.dc.gov
Patricia Little
(Photography (Imaging I & II))

patricia.little@k12.dc.gov
Rodney Little, Chair
(Art A, Computer Graphics, Design Tools & Techniques, Drawing II)

rlittle@ellingtonarts.org
Jacqueline Maggi
(Printmaking, Sculpture)

jacqueline.maggi@k12.dc.gov
Piankhi Zimmerman
(Computer Graphics II: Animation & Design)

piankhi.zimmerman@k12.dc.gov
Vocal Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Monifa Barrow-Wass
(Sight-Singing I-IV)

monifa.barrow-wass@k12.dc.gov
Rob Blount
(Intro to Sight Singing)

Rob.Blount@k12.dc.gov
Chester Burke Jr.
(Piano Theory I & II, Collaborative Pianist)

Chester.lee-burke@k12.dc.gov
Marquita Cooper
(Vocal Technique I-IV, Concert Choir, Music History)

Marquita.Cooper@k12.dc.gov
Michael Ely
(Collaborative Pianist)

vocalaccompanist@aol.com
Antonio Espinal
Antonio.Espinal@k12.dc.gov
Reginald Golden
(Concert Choir)

reginald.golden2@k12.dc.gov
Xavier Joseph
(Vocal Technique I-IV, Concert Choir, Public Speaking)

xavier.joseph@k12.dc.gov
Kelly Lenahan
(Collaborative Pianist)
Sandi Lewanika
(Sight Singing II)

sandi.lewanika@k12.dc.gov
Tess Ottinger
(Voice, Music History, Female Ensemble)

tess.ottinger@k12.dc.gov
Paige Rammelkamp
(Collaborative Pianist)
Monique Spells, Chair
(Vocal Technique, Diction, Concert Choir, Show Choir)

monique.holmes@k12.dc.gov
Ying-Shan Su
(Collaborative Pianist)

Ying-Shan.Su@k12.dc.gov
Everett Williams
(Accompanist)
Taylor Young
(Jazz Ensemble)

Taylor.Young@k12.dc.gov