Slideshow 1
Slideshow Overlay

Announcements

March 7, 2021

Remember, none of us are in this alone, neither as students nor family members. Be sure to avail yourself of every possible resource (Wednesday meditation sessions are on hiatus until further notice), including members of Ellington’s fabulous Wellness Team:

Mr. Perry Camp, School Psychologist, perry.camp@k12.dc.gov
Ms. Megan Crowley, Specialized Instruction, megan.crowley@k12.dc.gov
Mr. Troy Cudworth, Specialized Instruction, troy.cudworth@k12.dc.gov
Ms. Nicole Frazier, Social Worker (11th/12th grades), nicole.frazier@k12.dc.gov
Ms. Donna Hollis, Director of SEL & Shepherding, donna.hollis@k12.dc.gov
Ms. Delphenia James, School Nurse, delphenia.james.CHN@k12.dc.gov
Mr. Marquis Mathis, Counselor (9th/10th grades),
Ms. Suwana Reavis, Counselor (11th/12th grades), suwana.reavis@k12.dco.gov
Mr. Ben Smith, Specialized Instruction, ben.smith@k12.dc.gov
Ms. Crystal Sylvia, School Social Worker (9th/10th grades), crystal.sylvia@k12.dc.gov
Mr. James Walker, Dir. of Student & Parent Engagement, james.walker4@k12.dc.gov

The DC Department of Behavioral Health and DC Public Schools are working together to bring District schools more mental health support through community-based organizations. Ellington has been selected as a participating school, which is perfect timing given the current state of affairs.

This expansion is using a three-tiered system of supports:

  • Tier 1 is available to everyone in the Ellington Community.
  • Tier 2 is more targeted mental health supports, including small groups, professional development, and parent training.
  • Tier 3 is focused on individuals who might need more intensive supports, including individual and family therapy, community supports, and possibly medication management for Ellington students, families, and staff members.

Tier 3 services are provided through Maryland Family Resources, Inc., which has assigned Ms. Stephanie Waters, MSW, LGSW, LMSW, as Ellington’s dedicated community-based clinician for all three tiers of support. An upcoming Universal Referral process will provide access the Wellness Team and any necessary tiered supports. Based on the needs assessed by referrals, rollouts will continue through this partnership, including therapeutic and support groups, and other programs for the Ellington Community. With your assistance, we can help guide and develop this partnership to maximize its usefulness. Please contact Ms. Hollis for more information.

Contact Director of SEL & Shepherding Donna Hollis at donna.hollis@k12.dc.gov for more information.

Wellness Wednesdays

Wellness Wednesdays, an online support group, is an opportunity for parents to learn about how to take care of themselves and how to foster resiliency for their children in these challenging times, share experiences and ask questions of school-based clinicians and early childhood specialists. Here’s the upcoming schedule:

  • March 10: Knowledge is Power
  • March 17: How Culture Supports Strengths & Resiliency
  • March 24: Parenting With Patience
  • March 31: The Positive Face of Anger

Click here to join the meeting on Wednesdays at 5:30 p.m. There’s also an on-demand library that features virtual workshops, videos, and other tools and community resources.