Slideshow 1
Slideshow Overlay
Inner Banner 1 Inner Banner Overlay

Contact Us

"Education is all a matter of building bridges."

- Ralph Ellison

Duke Ellington School of the Arts

The Duke Ellington School of the Arts has moved back to R Street! Please find our current address below:

3500 R Street NW
Washington, DC 20007

Main Office – (202) 282-0123
info@ellingtonarts.org

2018-2019 Administration, Faculty & Staff

Leadership
Name/PositionContact Information
Harriette Ecton
(Chief Development Officer)

Hecton@ellingtonarts.org
Donna Hollis
(Director of Student Affairs)

dhollis@ellingtonarts.org
Angela Jones
(Associate Director of Arts)

ajones@ellingtonarts.org
Sandi Logan
(Principal)

slogan@ellingtonarts.org
Ronald Lee Newman
(Director of Operations and Collaborative Projects)

rnewman@ellingtonarts.org
Savannah Overton
(Director of Enrollment & Educational Partnerships)
Phone: 202.631.3129 (cell)
sroverton@ellingtonarts.org
Tia Powell Harris
(Chief Executive Officer)

tph@ellingtonarts.org
Vanessa Snyder
(Director of Academic Instruction)

vsnyder@ellingtonarts.org
Administration
Name/PositionContact Information
Melissa Bethea
(Library Media Specialist)

melissa.bethea@dc.gov
Shanta James
(Cafeteria Manger)

cafe.ellington@dc.gov
Lisa Jones
(Instructional Coach)

lisa.jones2@dc.gov
Dana Nearing
(Registrar)
Phone: 202-727-6404
dnearing@ellingtonarts.org
Maxine Stone
(Executive Administrative Support Manager)

maxine.stone@dc.gov
Student Support Services​
Name/PositionContact Information
Perry Camp
(School Psychologist)

perry.camp@dc.gov
Larry Davis
(Educational Counselor)

ldavis@collegeboard.com
Adia Howard-Stroud
(Attendance Counselor)

adia.howard-stroud@dc.gov
Delphenia James
(School Nurse)

delphenia.james@dc.gov
Suwana Reavis
(School Counselor)

suwana.reavis@dc.gov
Crystal Sylvia
(Social Worker & 504 Coordinator)

crystal.sylvia@dc.gov
George Walls
(DC-CAP (College Access Program) Coordinator)

george.walls@dccap.org
Tedra Williams
(School Counselor)

tedra.williams@dc.gov
Ellington Fund
Name/PositionContact Information
Harriette Ecton
(Chief Development Officer)

Hecton@ellingtonarts.org
Heather Pollak
(Development Associate and Special Projects Coordinator)

hpollak@ellingtonarts.org
Noemy Rivera-Gutierrez
(Administrative Assistant & Office Manager)

noemyrg@ellingtonarts.org
Electives
Name/PositionContact Information
Seun Joshua
(Computer Aplications I&II, STEM Lab)

seun.joshua@gmail.com
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com
English
Name/PositionContact Information
Deidre Comegys
(Pre-AP English I & II)

comegysdre@gmail.com
Gabrielle Dubose
(English II)

gabrielle.dubose@dc.gov
Tiffany Jackson
(English III & AP Language)

Tiffany.Jackson6@dc.gov
Andrew Leddy
(English IV, AP Literature)

Andrew.Leddy@dc.gov
Cullen Swinson, Chair
(English I)

cullen.swinson@dc.gov
Health & Physical Fitness
Name/PositionContact Information
Beverly Clavon
(Health, AP Psychology)

beverly.clavon@dc.gov
Leonard Nelson
(Physical Education, Track & Field Coach)

OxMan43@yahoo.com
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Modern Dance)

Nikki.Sutton@dc.gov
Math
Name/PositionContact Information
Michele Burbank
(Algebra II, Honors Algebra II, Probability & Statistics)

michele.burbank@dc.gov
Kimberly Havens
(Algebra II, Honors Algebra II, Geometry)

havensellington@gmail.com
Seun Joshua
(Computer Aplications I&II, STEM Lab)

seun.joshua@gmail.com
Ian Magee
(Algebra 1, Geometry, Honors Geometry)

ian.magee@dc.gov
Charise Shaw, Chair
(Algebra 1, Pre-Calculus, Honors Pre-Calculus, AP Calculus)

charise.shaw@dc.gov
Christopher Verner
(Algebra I, Honors Algebra I, Geometry)

christopher.verner@dc.gov
Science
Name/PositionContact Information
Michele Baskin, Chair
(Chemistry, AP Chemistry, Honors Chemistry)

Ms.BaskinChem@gmail.com
Beverly Clavon
(Health, AP Psychology)

beverly.clavon@dc.gov
Oliva Kerrigan
(Environmental Science, Biology)

KerriganBiology@gmail.com
Jacqueline Nickerson
(Anatomy and Physiology)

drjnickerson@gmail.com
Eileen Pascucci
(Chemistry, Honors Biology, AP Biology)

eileen.pascucci@gmail.com
Jaime Ratkoff
(Physics, Biology)

jaime.ratkoff@dc.gov
Social Sciences
Name/PositionContact Information
Stephen Edge
(US History, AP US History)

stephen.edge@dc.gov
Jonathan Fruendt
(World History II, AP World History)

jonathan.fruendt@dc.gov
Jeff Johnson
(World History I, Pre-AP World History)

jeffjohnson5@gmail.com
Lynn Moore, Chair
(World History, Geography I)

lynn.moore@dc.gov
Nicolas Ojeda
(DC History, US Government, AP US Government, Street Law)

nicolas.ojeda@dc.gov
Specialized Instruction
Name/PositionContact Information
Seth Brecher
(Special Education Coordinator, College Summit 12, Study Skills)

Seth.Brecher@dc.gov
Troy Cudworth
(Character Exploration, Study Skills Development)

troy.cudworth@dc.gov
Ben Smith
ben.smith@dc.gov
World Languages
Name/PositionContact Information
Laura Moticka
(Italian I - III)

laura.moticka@dc.gov
Genesis Rosales
(Spanish I & II)
Primrose Tishman, Chair
(French I - V)

primrose.tishman@dc.gov
Dance
Name/PositionContact Information
Charles Augins, Chair
(Ethnic Dance, Dance Technique, Dance Potpourri, Ballet)

charles.augins@dc.gov
Melvin Deal
(African Dance, Drummer)

africanhdd@aol.com
Sandra Fortune-Green
(Ballet Composition)

bplus10@msn.com
Treanna Reid-Alexander
(Dance Improvisation, Dance Orientation, Modern)

morm4us@aol.com
Katherine Smith
(Dance History, Modern, Senior Project)

katherine.smith@dc.gov
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Modern Dance)

Nikki.Sutton@dc.gov
Nina Willner
(Accompanist)
Instrumental Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Norman Brentley
(Flute Technique, Flute Ensemble)

thebrentleys@verizon.net
Amanda Collins
(French Horn)

acollinshorn@gmail.com
Isaac Daniel, Chair
(Orchestra, Guitar Technique, Conducting)

ikedaniel@aol.com
Leslie DeLaine
(Music Theory, Violin Technique)

ljdelaine@hotmail.com
Tyra Flotte
(Clarinet Technique, Clarinet Ensemble, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band, Music Theory II, Concert Band)

tyraflotte@gmail.com
Dupor Georges
(Lower Brass, Wind Ensemble, Concert Band, Theory)

dgeorjazz@outlook.com
Lynne Gray
(Piano Theory, Music History)

lynne.gray@dc.gov
Heather Haughn
(Violin & Viola Technique, String Ensemble, Concert Band)

heatherhaughn@hotmail.com
Kieron Irvine
(Trumpet Tech I-IV, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band)

Irvine_Kieron@yahoo.com
Carolyn Kellock
(Bass Technique, Music Theory)

gdaecomical@aol.com
Mark Meadows
(Vocal Jazz Ensemble, The Mellow Tones)

mgmeadows20@gmail.com
Haewon Min
(Music Theory II, Accelerated Piano, Piano Ensemble, Piano Technique, Piano Theory, Harp)

hwmin111@gmail.com
Paul Morgan
(Composition, Music Theory III)

pianojunkie@hotmail.com
Janet Peachey
(Music History, Music Theory, Composition, AP Theory)

janet.peachey@dc.gov
Denna Purdie
(Cello Technique, Music Theory II)

dennacello@yahoo.com
Francis Thompson
(Percussion Technique, Music Theory)

francis.thompson@dc.gov
Davey Yarborough
(Jazz Studies Director, Saxophone Technique, Jazz Orchestra)

thesax56@aol.com
Literary Media & Communications
Name/PositionContact Information
Chuckwunonso Dureke
(Writing Workshop, Writing for Media)

chuckwunosodureke@gmail.com
Eric Easter
(Journalism)

eastereric@gmail.com
Oscar Jamaal
(Mass Media & Communications)

ojahmaal@gmail.com
Mark Moore
(Creative Writing, Media II, Journalism I)

Msheldon08@gmail.com
Jami Ramberan
(Media I, II, III)

jami.e.ramberan@gmail.com
Mark Williams, Chair
(Senior Project, Playwriting/Play Analysis, African American Literature, Playwriting for Theater Seniors)

mwill209@yahoo.com
Museum Studies
Name/PositionContact Information
Nekisha Durrett
(Photography I & II, Exhibit Design I & II, Museum Registration and Conservation, Art History I & II)

nekisha@nekishadurrett.com
Jarvis Grant
(Digital Media)

JarvisGrant@comcast.net
Kristopher Malone
(Art & Design Foundations, Cultural Studies, Art History, Gallery Management, Mus Communications 3)

kcmalone25@gmail.com
Marta Reid Stewart, Chair
(Curatorial Skills; Introduction to Museum Studies; Survey of World Art; Art and Culture; and Senior Internship)

martareidstewart@gmail.com
Technical Design & Production
Name/PositionContact Information
John Alexander
(Theatre Design, Technical Production, Theatre Operations)

joalexdesign@me.com
Betty Fenner Davis
(Costume Technology, Basic Costumes, Technical Production)

bettyfennerdavis@yahoo.com
Robin Harris
(Curriculum & Logistics Coordinator/Instructor, Entertainment Careers, Stagecraft, Stage Management, Theatre Operations)

Robin.Harris2@dc.gov
Nicole Leonard, Chair
(Theatre Management, Theatre Operations, Senior Project)

nicole.leonard2@dc.gov
Michael Murray
(Costume Shop Manager, Theatre Operations)

DesignerMike1@aol.com
Tony Starnes
(Audio/Visual Technician)

twstarnes@gmail.com
Thom Woodward
(Audio Visual Technology, Audio Visual Design, Technical Production)

Thomjwoodward@gmail.com
Theatre
Name/PositionContact Information
Denise Diggs
(Speech I, II & III)

denisediggs@hughes.net
Ken Johnson, Chair
(Senior Projects, Acting IV, Theatre Styles, Playwriting)

skenjohnson@aol.com
Vera Katz
(Acting)

dramaprof@comcast.net
Dawn Naser
(Movement, Acting I, Theater Operations)

dlnaser@hotmail.com
Eric Ruffin
(Theatre History, Play Analysis)

eruffin40@gmail.com
Deidra Starnes
2bedestar@gmail.com
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com
Visual Arts
Name/PositionContact Information
Mike Easton
(Drawing I, Drawing III, Painting I, Painting II, Art and Design Foundations)

touchstudios@verizon.net
Kimberly King
(Drawing II, Printmaking, Art and Design Foundations, Sculpture)

kimberlynicoleking@gmail.com
Rodney Little, Chair
(Art & Design Foundations, Computer Graphics, Design Tools & Techniques, Drawing 2)

rlittle@ellingtonarts.org
Patricia Little
(Photography)

5feet2photography@gmail.com
Mark Walker
(AP Art History, Drawing IV, 2D Concepts, Art History, Art and Design Foundations)

lordants@gmail.com
Vocal Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Samuel Bonds
(Vocal Technique, Concert Choir, Opera Workshop)

sleebonds@hotmail.com
Chester Burke Jr.
(Piano Theory I, Piano Theory II, Vocal Accompanist)

chester.burkejr@gmail.com
Michael Crabill
(Vocal Coach, Accompanist)

mikecrabill53@verizon.net
Daphne Dunston-Wharton
(Vocal Technique, Concert Choir, Opera Workshop, Sight Singing)

ddunstonwharton@gmail.com
Michael Ely
(Vocal Coach, Accompanist)

vocalaccompanist@aol.com
Frances Fonza
(Sight Singing II)

francesfonza@gmail.com
Brent Gossett
(Sight Singing II)

Bgossett3665@gmail.com
Lester Green
(Sight Singing I, Accompanist)

lester.green@morgan.edu
Dr. Monique Holmes, Chair
(Vocal Technique, Diction, Concert Choir, Show Choir)

monique.holmes8110@gmail.com
Mark Meadows
(Vocal Jazz Ensemble, The Mellow Tones)

mgmeadows20@gmail.com
Andrew Smith
(Sight-Singing III-IV & Concert Choir)

music.7215@gmail.com
Sylvia Twine
(Voice Technique, Music History, Sight Singing, Female Ensemble Sophisticated Ladies)

sylcaptwine@aol.com
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com