Slideshow 1
Slideshow Overlay
Inner Banner 1 Inner Banner Overlay

Contact Us

"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

- Dr. Seuss

Duke Ellington School of the Arts

We proudly announce that the Duke Ellington School of the Arts modernization has begun! While the Ellington building is being modernized, we will be relocating to the below locations until it is complete. Your patience is appreciated as we transition to our temporary locations over the summer break.

Ellington @ Meyer
2501 11th Street NW
Washington, DC 20001-3923
● Academic Departments
● Administrative Offices
● General School Mail delivery

Ellington @ Garnet-Patterson
2001 10th Street NW
Washington, DC 20001-4007
● Arts Departments
● Administrative Offices
● Ellington Fund

Main Office – (202) 282-0123
info@ellingtonarts.org

2015-2016 Administration, Faculty & Staff

Leadership
Name/PositionContact Information
Desepe de Vargas
(Head of School)

desepe.devargas@dc.gov
Harriette Ecton
(Chief Development Officer)
Phone: 202.299.5606
Hecton@ellingtonarts.org
Donna Hollis
(Director of Student Affairs)

donna.hollis@dc.gov
Tracie Jade Jenkins
(Director of Arts)
Phone: 202.727.4133
TJ@ellingtonarts.org
Sandi Logan
(Director of School Administrative Operations)

slogan@ellingtonarts.org
Ronald Lee Newman
(Director of Operations and Collaborative Programming)
Phone: 202.727.8764
rnewman@ellingtonarts.org
Savannah Overton
(Director of Admissions)
Phone: 202.299.5896 (office) & 202.631.3129 (cell)
sroverton@ellingtonarts.org
Dr Cameron Van Patterson
(Director of Academic Curriculum and Instruction)

CVanPatterson@ellingtonarts.org
Administration
Name/PositionContact Information
Sylvester Barnes
(Student Safety and Security Coordinator)
Phone: 202.282.2371
sylvesterl.barnes@dc.gov
Melissa Bethea
(Library Media Specialist)

melissa.bethea@dc.gov
Aaron Cain
(IT Coordinator)

Aaron.Cain2@dc.gov
Larry Davis
(Educational Counselor)

ldavis@collegeboard.com
LeNae Franklin
(Registrar & Records Coordinator)
Phone: 202.727.6404
lenae.franklin@dc.gov
Delphenia James
(School Nurse)
Phone: 202.282.0099
delphenia.james@dc.gov
Shanta James
(Cafeteria Manger)

cafe.ellington@dc.gov
Traci Johnson
(DC-CAP (College Access Program) Coordinator)

traci.johnson@dccap.org
Angela Jones
(Attendance Counselor)
Phone: 202.299.5916
ajones@ellingtonarts.org
Lisa Jones
(Instructional Coach)

lisa.jones2@dc.gov
Brenda Nishimuna
(School Psychologist)

brenda.nishimuna@dc.gov
Suwana Reavis
(School Counselor)

suwana.reavis@dc.gov
Noemy Rivera-Gutierrez
(Main Office Manager - Garnet Patterson Campus)
Phone: 202.282.0123
NoemyRG@ellingtonarts.org
Brittany Robertson
(Assistant Director of Arts)

BRobertson@ellingtonarts.org
Maxine Stone
(Executive Administrative Support Manager)
Phone: 202.282.0123
maxine.stone@dc.gov
Tedra Williams
(School Counselor)

tedra.williams@dc.gov
Ellington Fund
Name/PositionContact Information
Harriette Ecton
(Chief Development Officer)
Phone: 202.299.5606
Hecton@ellingtonarts.org
Jerome Hopkins
(Staff Accountant)
Phone: 202.299.5836
jhopkins@ellingtonarts.org
Brian Nielsen
(Comptroller)
Phone: 202.299.5609
bn@ellingtonarts.org
Sefanit Israel Tekle
(Special Projects & Logistics Manager)
Phone: 202.299.5663
stekle@ellingtonarts.org
Sara Trautman-Yegenoglu
(Director of Grants & Annual Fund)
Phone: 202.671.1341
strautman@ellingtonarts.org
Cheryl Wiggins
(Business Manager)
Phone: 202.299.5651
cwiggins@ellingtonarts.org
Facility/Custodian Staff
Name/PositionContact Information
Clarence Andrews
(Custodian)
Xavier Coleman
(Custodian)
Gabriel Garcia
(Custodian)
Alonzo Hinnant
(Head Custodian, Facility Manager)

alonzo.hinnant@dc.gov
Dale Lonon
(Custodian)
Celina Ochoa
(Custodian)
English
Name/PositionContact Information
Brandelyn Anderson
(English IV, AP Literature and Composition)

MrsBrandelynAnderson@gmail.com
Gabrielle Dubose
(English II)

gabrielle.dubose@dc.gov
Darius Jutzi
(English III, AP English Language & Composition)

djutzi@gmail.com
Sarai Reed
(Honors English)

sarai@gwmail.gwu.edu
Cullen Swinson, Chair
(English I)

cullen.swinson@dc.gov
Health & Physical Fitness
Name/PositionContact Information
Beverly Clavon
(Health)

beverly.clavon@dc.gov
Leonard Nelson
(Physical Education)

OxMan43@yahoo.com
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Modern Dance)
Phone: 202.299.5900
Nikki.Sutton@dc.gov
Math
Name/PositionContact Information
Michele Burbank
(Algebra I Academy, Algebra I, Honors Algebra I)

Michele.Burbank@dc.gov
Rachel Hamstra
(Honors Geometry, Probability & Statistics, AP Statistics)

rachel.hamstra@dc.gov
Jonathan Jones
(Algebra I, Algebra II, Honors Algebra II)

jonathan.jones2@dc.gov
Avery Nielsen
(Geometry, Algebra II)

avery.nielsen@dc.gov
Charise Shaw, Chair
(Pre-Calculus, Calculus, AP Calculus)

charise.shaw@dc.gov
Science
Name/PositionContact Information
Jonathan Alexis
(Biology, Environmental Science)

jonathan.alexis@dc.gov
Michele Baskin, Chair
(Chemistry, AP Chemistry, Honors Chemistry)

Ms.BaskinChem@gmail.com
Jacqueline Nickerson
(Anatomy and Physiology)

drjnickerson@gmail.com
Eileen Pascucci
(Chemistry, Honors Biology, AP Biology)

eileen.pascucci@gmail.com
Jaime Ratkoff
(Physics, Biology)

jaime.ratkoff@dc.gov
Social Sciences
Name/PositionContact Information
Jonathan Fruendt
(World History II, AP World History)

jonathan.fruendt@dc.gov
Reggie Melbrough
(US History, AP US History)

reggiemelbrough@gmail.com
Lynn Moore, Chair
(World History, Geography I)

lynn.moore@dc.gov
Nicolas Ojeda
(DC History, US Government, AP US Government, Street Law)

nicolas.ojeda@dc.gov
Jennifer Soliman
(Street Law)

jms597@georgetown.edu
Specialized Instruction
Name/PositionContact Information
Seth Brecher
(Special Education, College Summit)

Seth.Brecher@dc.gov
Troy Cudworth
(Special Education, Study Skills)

troy.cudworth@dc.gov
Channita Fraser
(ESL)

channita.fraser@dc.gov
Nicole Strohman, Chair
(Special Education Coordinator)

Nicole.stroman@dc.gov
Crystal Sylvia
(School Social Worker)

crystal.sylvia@dc.gov
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com
World Languages
Name/PositionContact Information
Laura Moticka
(Italian I - III)

laura.moticka@dc.gov
Yura Schreiber
(French II, Spanish I, II & IV)

yuracs@aol.com
Diannette Soto
(Spanish I, II, & III)

Diannette.Soto@dc.gov
Primrose Tishman, Chair
(French I - V)

primrose.tishman@dc.gov
Dance
Name/PositionContact Information
Charles Augins, Chair
(Ethnic Dance, Dance Technique, Dance Potpourri, Ballet)
Phone: 202.299.5900
charles.augins@dc.gov
Melvin Deal
(African Dance, Drummer)
Phone: 202.299.5900
africanhdd@aol.com
Sandra Fortune-Green
(Ballet Composition)
Phone: 202.299.5900
bplus10@msn.com
Treanna Reid-Alexander
(Dance Improvisation, Dance Orientation, Modern)
Phone: 202.299.5900
morm4us@aol.com
Katherine Smith
(Dance History, Modern, Senior Project)
Phone: 202.299.5900
katherine.smith@dc.gov
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Modern Dance)
Phone: 202.299.5900
Nikki.Sutton@dc.gov
Neil Whitehead
(Ballet)
Phone: 202.299.5900
neil.whitehead@dc.gov
Nina Willner
(Accompanist)
Phone: 202.299.5900
Instrumental Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Norman Brentley
(Flute Technique, Flute Ensemble)

thebrentleys@verizon.net
Victoria Alma Castello
(Applied Piano Technique, Applied Pipe Organ Technique)

victoria.castello@dc.gov
Amanda Collins
(French Horn)

acollinshorn@gmail.com
Isaac Daniel, Chair
(Orchestra, Guitar Technique, Conducting)

ikedaniel@aol.com
Leslie DeLaine
(Music Theory, Violin Technique)

ljdelaine@hotmail.com
Tyra Flotte
(Clarinet Technique, Clarinet Ensemble, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band, Music Theory II, Concert Band)

tyraflotte@gmail.com
Dupor Georges
(Lower Brass, Wind Ensemble, Concert Band, Theory)

dgeorjazz@outlook.com
Lynne Gray
(Piano Theory, Music History)

lynne.gray@dc.gov
Heather Haughn
(Violin & Viola Technique, String Ensemble, Concert Band)

heatherhaughn@hotmail.com
Kieron Irvine
(Trumpet Tech I-IV, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band)

Irvine_Kieron@yahoo.com
Carolyn Kellock
(Bass Technique, Music Theory)

gdaecomical@aol.com
Mark Meadows
(Vocal Jazz Ensemble, The Mellow Tones)

mgmeadows20@gmail.com
Haewon Min
(Music Theory II, Accelerated Piano, Piano Ensemble, Piano Technique, Piano Theory, Harp)

hwmin111@gmail.com
Paul Morgan
(Composition, Music Theory III)

pianojunkie@hotmail.com
Janet Peachey
(Music History, Music Theory, Composition, AP Theory)

janet.peachey@dc.gov
Denna Purdie
(Cello Technique, Music Theory II)

dennacello@yahoo.com
Francis Thompson
(Percussion Technique, Music Theory)

francis.thompson@dc.gov
Kika Wright
(Oboe & Bassoon)

francisca.wright@gmail.com
Davey Yarborough
(Jazz Studies Director, Saxophone Technique, Jazz Orchestra)

thesax56@aol.com
Literary Media & Communications
Name/PositionContact Information
Kelli Anderson
(Mass Media and Communications I-III, Media IV)

sojournals@gmail.com
Micha Green
(Creative Writing, Journalism I, Play Analysis for TDP)

michapgreen@gmail.com
Koye Oyedeji
(Writing Workshop)

koyeoyedeji@gmail.com
Jami Ramberan
(Media I, II, III)

jeramberan@gmail.com
Mark Williams, Chair
(Senior Project, Playwriting/Play Analysis, African American Literature, Playwriting for Theater Seniors)

mwill209@yahoo.com
Museum Studies
Name/PositionContact Information
Nekisha Durrett
(Photography I & II, Exhibit Design I & II, Museum Registration and Conservation, Art History I & II)

nekisha@nekishadurrett.com
Jarvis Grant
(Digital Media)

JarvisGrant@comcast.net
Elisabeth Palmer
(Museum Education & Interpretation; Art History I; Archives, Collections, and Exhibitions I)

elisabethjane89@gmail.com
Takicha Roundtree
(Yearbook; Yearbook for Museum Studies; Exhibit I & II; Museum Communications)

takicha.roundtree@dc.gov
Marta Reid Stewart, Chair
(Curatorial Skills; Introduction to Museum Studies; Survey of World Art; Art and Culture; and Senior Internship)

martareidstewart@gmail.com
Technical Design & Production
Name/PositionContact Information
Thomas Carter
(Stage Design II (scenic), Stage Design I (scenic), Senior Seminar, Theatre Production)

tfcreations4@gmail.com
Micha Green
(Creative Writing, Journalism I, Play Analysis for TDP)

michapgreen@gmail.com
Jerrett Harrington
(Stage Lighting; Technical Production 1 (lighting))

jerrett.harrington@me.com
Robin Harris
(Basic Costumes; Entertainment Careers 1; Basic Stage Craft)

Robin.Harris2@dc.gov
Nicole Leonard
(Production Manager; Stage Management; Theatre Operations 1; Theatre Management 1; Theatre Operations 3)

nicoleo.leonard@gmail.com
April Sturdivant
(Theatre Design 2 (sound), Audio Visual Technology)

Aprilkelli@yahoo.com
Theatre
Name/PositionContact Information
Nicole Brewer
(Acting II & III, Intro to Theatre)

NicoleMoniqueBrewer@gmail.com
Denise Diggs
(Speech I, II & III)

denisediggs@hughes.net
Billie Holmes
billiekrishawnholmes@gmail.com
Ken Johnson, Chair
(Senior Projects, Acting IV, Theatre Styles, Playwriting)

skenjohnson@aol.com
Vera Katz
(Acting)

dramaprof@comcast.net
Dawn Naser
(Movement, Acting I, Theater Operations)

dlnaser@hotmail.com
Eric Ruffin
(Theatre History, Play Analysis)

eruffin40@gmail.com
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com
Visual Arts
Name/PositionContact Information
Melchus Davis
(Drawing I, Drawing III, Painting I, AP Studio Art)

Melchusdavissr@yahoo.com
Mike Easton, Chair
(Drawing I, Drawing III, Painting I, Painting II, Art and Design Foundations)

touchstudios@verizon.net
Derek Horton
(Digital photography, Intro to Digital Media, Graphic Effects, Senior project, Art and Design Foundations)

dhorton@hortfolio.com
Kimberly King
(Drawing II, Printmaking, Art and Design Foundations, Sculpture)

kimberlynicoleking@gmail.com
Mark Walker
(AP Art History, Drawing IV, 2D Concepts, Art History, Art and Design Foundations)

lordants@gmail.com
Vocal Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Samuel Bonds, Chair
(Vocal Technique, Concert Choir, Opera Workshop)

sleebonds@hotmail.com
Chester Burke Jr.
(Piano Theory I, Piano Theory II, Vocal Accompanist)

chester.burkejr@gmail.com
Michael Crabill
(Vocal Coach, Accompanist)

mikecrabill53@verizon.net
Daphne Dunston-Wharton
(Vocal Technique, Concert Choir, Opera Workshop, Sight Singing)

ddunstonwharton@gmail.com
Michael Ely
(Vocal Coach, Accompanist)

vocalaccompanist@aol.com
Brent Gossett
(Sight Singing II)

Bgossett3665@gmail.com
Lester Green
(Sight Singing I, Accompanist)

lester.green@morgan.edu
Dr. Monique Holmes, Chair
(Vocal Technique, Diction, Concert Choir, Show Choir)

monique.holmes8110@gmail.com
Mark Meadows
(Vocal Jazz Ensemble, The Mellow Tones)

mgmeadows20@gmail.com
Evelyn Simpson-Cureton
(Accompanist, Organ)

ecc3867@aol.com
Andrew Smith
(Sight-Singing III-IV & Concert Choir)

music.7215@gmail.com
Sylvia Twine
(Voice Technique, Music History, Sight Singing, Female Ensemble Sophisticated Ladies)

sylcaptwine@aol.com
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com
Sesheida Young
(Sight Singing I)

Sesheida@gmail.com