Slideshow 1
Slideshow Overlay
Inner Banner 1 Inner Banner Overlay

Contact Us

"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

- Dr. Seuss

Duke Ellington School of the Arts

The Duke Ellington School of the Arts has moved back to R Street! Please find our current address below:

3500 R Street NW
Washington, DC 20007

Main Office – (202) 282-0123
info@ellingtonarts.org

2017-2018 Administration, Faculty & Staff

Leadership
Name/PositionContact Information
Harriette Ecton
(Chief Development Officer)

Hecton@ellingtonarts.org
Donna Hollis
(Director of Student Affairs)

dhollis@ellingtonarts.org
Tracie Jade Jenkins
(Director of Arts)

TJ@ellingtonarts.org
Sandi Logan
(Principal)

slogan@ellingtonarts.org
Ronald Lee Newman
(Director of Operations and Collaborative Programming)

rnewman@ellingtonarts.org
Savannah Overton
(Director of Admissions)
Phone: 202.631.3129 (cell)
sroverton@ellingtonarts.org
Tia Powell Harris
(Chief Executive Officer)

tph@ellingtonarts.org
Vanessa Snyder
(Director of Academic Instruction)

vanessa.snyder@dc.gov
Administration
Name/PositionContact Information
Melissa Bethea
(Library Media Specialist)

melissa.bethea@dc.gov
Aaron Cain
(IT Coordinator)

Aaron.Cain2@dc.gov
LeNae Franklin
(Registrar & Records Coordinator)

lenae.franklin@dc.gov
Shanta James
(Cafeteria Manger)

cafe.ellington@dc.gov
Lisa Jones
(Instructional Coach)

lisa.jones2@dc.gov
Brittany Robertson
(Associate Director of Arts)

BRobertson@ellingtonarts.org
Maxine Stone
(Executive Administrative Support Manager)

maxine.stone@dc.gov
Student Support Services​
Name/PositionContact Information
Perry Camp
(School Psychologist)

perry.camp@dc.gov
Larry Davis
(Educational Counselor)

ldavis@collegeboard.com
Delphenia James
(School Nurse)

delphenia.james@dc.gov
Angela Jones
(Attendance Counselor)

ajones@ellingtonarts.org
Suwana Reavis
(School Counselor)

suwana.reavis@dc.gov
Crystal Sylvia
(Social Worker & 504 Coordinator)

crystal.sylvia@dc.gov
George Walls
(DC-CAP (College Access Program) Coordinator)

george.walls@dccap.org
Tedra Williams
(School Counselor)

tedra.williams@dc.gov
Ellington Fund
Name/PositionContact Information
Harriette Ecton
(Chief Development Officer)

Hecton@ellingtonarts.org
Jerome Hopkins
(Staff Accountant)

jhopkins@ellingtonarts.org
Brian Nielsen
(Comptroller)

bn@ellingtonarts.org
Heather Pollak
(Development Associate and Special Projects Coordinator)

hpollak@ellingtonarts.org
Noemy Rivera-Gutierrez
(Administrative Assistant & Office Manager)

noemyrg@ellingtonarts.org
Dr Cameron Van Patterson
(Director of Grants and Annual Fund)

CVanPatterson@ellingtonarts.org
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com
Cheryl Wiggins
(Business Manager)

cwiggins@ellingtonarts.org
Electives
Name/PositionContact Information
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com
English
Name/PositionContact Information
Gabrielle Dubose
(English II)

gabrielle.dubose@dc.gov
Jalissa Gary
(English IV, AP Literature and Composition)

jalissa.gary@dc.gov
Tiffany Jackson
(English III & AP Language)

Tiffany.Jackson6@dc.gov
Sarai Reed
(Honors English)

ms.saraireed@gmail.com
Cullen Swinson, Chair
(English I)

cullen.swinson@dc.gov
Health & Physical Fitness
Name/PositionContact Information
Beverly Clavon
(Health)

beverly.clavon@dc.gov
Leonard Nelson
(Physical Education)

OxMan43@yahoo.com
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Modern Dance)

Nikki.Sutton@dc.gov
Math
Name/PositionContact Information
Michele Burbank
(Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Honors Algebra 2)

Michele.Burbank@dc.gov
Rachel Hamstra
(Geometry, Probability & Statistics, AP Statistics)

rachel.hamstra@dc.gov
Seun Joshua
(Computer Aplications I&II, STEM Lab)

seun.joshua@gmail.com
Ian Magee
(Algebra 1, Geometry, Honors Geometry)

ian.magee@dc.gov
Dr. Caleb Rossiter
(Algebra 2, Geometry)
Charise Shaw, Chair
(Algebra 1, Pre-Calculus, Honors Pre-Calculus, AP Calculus)

charise.shaw@dc.gov
Science
Name/PositionContact Information
Michele Baskin, Chair
(Chemistry, AP Chemistry, Honors Chemistry)

Ms.BaskinChem@gmail.com
Byron Gatton
(Biology, Environmental Science)

gattonbj@gmail.com
Jacqueline Nickerson
(Anatomy and Physiology)

drjnickerson@gmail.com
Eileen Pascucci
(Chemistry, Honors Biology, AP Biology)

eileen.pascucci@gmail.com
Jaime Ratkoff
(Physics, Biology)

jaime.ratkoff@dc.gov
Social Sciences
Name/PositionContact Information
Stephen Edge
(US History, AP US History)

stephen.edge@dc.gov
Jonathan Fruendt
(World History II, AP World History)

jonathan.fruendt@dc.gov
Jeff Johnson
(World History I, Pre-AP World History)

jeffjohnson5@gmail.com
Lynn Moore, Chair
(World History, Geography I)

lynn.moore@dc.gov
Nicolas Ojeda
(DC History, US Government, AP US Government, Street Law)

nicolas.ojeda@dc.gov
Specialized Instruction
Name/PositionContact Information
Seth Brecher
(Special Education Coordinator, College Summit 12, Study Skills)

Seth.Brecher@dc.gov
Troy Cudworth
(Special Education, Study Skills)

troy.cudworth@dc.gov
Ben Smith
ben.smith@dc.gov
Nicole Strohman, Chair
(Special Education Coordinator)

Nicole.stroman@dc.gov
World Languages
Name/PositionContact Information
Laura Moticka
(Italian I - III)

laura.moticka@dc.gov
Yura Schreiber
(French II, Spanish I, II & IV)

yuracs@aol.com
Diannette Soto
(Spanish I, II, & III)

Diannette.Soto@dc.gov
Primrose Tishman, Chair
(French I - V)

primrose.tishman@dc.gov
Dance
Name/PositionContact Information
Charles Augins, Chair
(Ethnic Dance, Dance Technique, Dance Potpourri, Ballet)

charles.augins@dc.gov
Melvin Deal
(African Dance, Drummer)

africanhdd@aol.com
Sandra Fortune-Green
(Ballet Composition)

bplus10@msn.com
Treanna Reid-Alexander
(Dance Improvisation, Dance Orientation, Modern)

morm4us@aol.com
Katherine Smith
(Dance History, Modern, Senior Project)

katherine.smith@dc.gov
Nikki Sutton-Mackey
(Physical Education, Modern Dance)

Nikki.Sutton@dc.gov
Instrumental Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Norman Brentley
(Flute Technique, Flute Ensemble)

thebrentleys@verizon.net
Victoria Alma Castello
(Applied Piano Technique, Applied Pipe Organ Technique)

victoria.castello@dc.gov
Amanda Collins
(French Horn)

acollinshorn@gmail.com
Isaac Daniel, Chair
(Orchestra, Guitar Technique, Conducting)

ikedaniel@aol.com
Leslie DeLaine
(Music Theory, Violin Technique)

ljdelaine@hotmail.com
Tyra Flotte
(Clarinet Technique, Clarinet Ensemble, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band, Music Theory II, Concert Band)

tyraflotte@gmail.com
Dupor Georges
(Lower Brass, Wind Ensemble, Concert Band, Theory)

dgeorjazz@outlook.com
Lynne Gray
(Piano Theory, Music History)

lynne.gray@dc.gov
Heather Haughn
(Violin & Viola Technique, String Ensemble, Concert Band)

heatherhaughn@hotmail.com
Kieron Irvine
(Trumpet Tech I-IV, Wind Ensemble, Radical Elite Show Band)

Irvine_Kieron@yahoo.com
Carolyn Kellock
(Bass Technique, Music Theory)

gdaecomical@aol.com
Mark Meadows
(Vocal Jazz Ensemble, The Mellow Tones)

mgmeadows20@gmail.com
Haewon Min
(Music Theory II, Accelerated Piano, Piano Ensemble, Piano Technique, Piano Theory, Harp)

hwmin111@gmail.com
Paul Morgan
(Composition, Music Theory III)

pianojunkie@hotmail.com
Janet Peachey
(Music History, Music Theory, Composition, AP Theory)

janet.peachey@dc.gov
Denna Purdie
(Cello Technique, Music Theory II)

dennacello@yahoo.com
Francis Thompson
(Percussion Technique, Music Theory)

francis.thompson@dc.gov
Kika Wright
(Oboe & Bassoon)

francisca.wright@gmail.com
Davey Yarborough
(Jazz Studies Director, Saxophone Technique, Jazz Orchestra)

thesax56@aol.com
Literary Media & Communications
Name/PositionContact Information
Kelli Anderson
(Mass Media and Communications I-III, Media IV)

sojournals@gmail.com
Oscar Jamaal
ojahmaal@gmail.com
Jami Ramberan
(Media I, II, III)

jami.e.ramberan@gmail.com
Mark Williams, Chair
(Senior Project, Playwriting/Play Analysis, African American Literature, Playwriting for Theater Seniors)

mwill209@yahoo.com
Museum Studies
Name/PositionContact Information
Caitlin Blake
caitlinefblake@gmail.com
Nekisha Durrett
(Photography I & II, Exhibit Design I & II, Museum Registration and Conservation, Art History I & II)

nekisha@nekishadurrett.com
Jarvis Grant
(Digital Media)

JarvisGrant@comcast.net
Takicha Roundtree
(Yearbook; Yearbook for Museum Studies; Exhibit I & II; Museum Communications)

takicha.roundtree@dc.gov
Marta Reid Stewart, Chair
(Curatorial Skills; Introduction to Museum Studies; Survey of World Art; Art and Culture; and Senior Internship)

martareidstewart@gmail.com
Technical Design & Production
Name/PositionContact Information
Paul Falcon
(Technical Director)

pfalcon@bellafaccia.net
Robin Harris
(Basic Costumes, Entertainment Careers 1, Basic Stage Craft)

Robin.Harris2@dc.gov
Nicole Leonard, Chair
(Stage Management, Theatre Operations 1, Theatre Management 1, Theatre Operations 3)

nicoleo.leonard@gmail.com
Denard Spriggs
Denarda1@gmail.com
Theatre
Name/PositionContact Information
Denise Diggs
(Speech I, II & III)

denisediggs@hughes.net
Ken Johnson, Chair
(Senior Projects, Acting IV, Theatre Styles, Playwriting)

skenjohnson@aol.com
Vera Katz
(Acting)

dramaprof@comcast.net
Dawn Naser
(Movement, Acting I, Theater Operations)

dlnaser@hotmail.com
Eric Ruffin
(Theatre History, Play Analysis)

eruffin40@gmail.com
Deidra Starnes
2bedestar@gmail.com
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com
Visual Arts
Name/PositionContact Information
Melchus Davis
(Drawing I, Drawing III, Painting I, AP Studio Art)

Melchusdavissr@yahoo.com
Mike Easton, Chair
(Drawing I, Drawing III, Painting I, Painting II, Art and Design Foundations)

touchstudios@verizon.net
Derek Horton
(Digital photography, Intro to Digital Media, Graphic Effects, Senior project, Art and Design Foundations)

dhorton@hortfolio.com
Kimberly King
(Drawing II, Printmaking, Art and Design Foundations, Sculpture)

kimberlynicoleking@gmail.com
Mark Walker
(AP Art History, Drawing IV, 2D Concepts, Art History, Art and Design Foundations)

lordants@gmail.com
Vocal Music
Name/PositionContact Information
Samuel Bonds
(Vocal Technique, Concert Choir, Opera Workshop)

sleebonds@hotmail.com
Chester Burke Jr.
(Piano Theory I, Piano Theory II, Vocal Accompanist)

chester.burkejr@gmail.com
Michael Crabill
(Vocal Coach, Accompanist)

mikecrabill53@verizon.net
Daphne Dunston-Wharton
(Vocal Technique, Concert Choir, Opera Workshop, Sight Singing)

ddunstonwharton@gmail.com
Michael Ely
(Vocal Coach, Accompanist)

vocalaccompanist@aol.com
Frances Fonza
(Sight Singing II)

francesfonza@gmail.com
Brent Gossett
(Sight Singing II)

Bgossett3665@gmail.com
Lester Green
(Sight Singing I, Accompanist)

lester.green@morgan.edu
Dr. Monique Holmes, Chair
(Vocal Technique, Diction, Concert Choir, Show Choir)

monique.holmes8110@gmail.com
Mark Meadows
(Vocal Jazz Ensemble, The Mellow Tones)

mgmeadows20@gmail.com
Evelyn Simpson-Cureton
(Accompanist, Organ)

ecc3867@aol.com
Andrew Smith
(Sight-Singing III-IV & Concert Choir)

music.7215@gmail.com
Sylvia Twine
(Voice Technique, Music History, Sight Singing, Female Ensemble Sophisticated Ladies)

sylcaptwine@aol.com
Roz White
(Musical Theatre)

rozwhitesings@gmail.com
Sesheida Young
(Sight Singing I)

Sesheida@gmail.com